Institutional Repositories: Part 2

In an area I hope to explore over time when my skills are ready, this blog in general (I have chosen to land here after a bit of surfing) is very generous in its information and detailing the issues behind some of the angles. I initially got to this blog from a video about a study on unicorns https://videopress.com/embed/fB7MoS3T?hd=0&autoPlay=0&permalink=0&loop=0https://v0.wordpress.com/js/next/videopress-iframe.js?m=1435166243

Data Pub

A few weeks back I wrote a post describing institutional repositories (IRs for short). IRs have been around for a while, with the impetus of making scholarly publications open access. However more recently, IRs have been cited as potential repositories for datasets, code, and other scholarly outputs. Here I continue the discussion of IRs and compare their utility to DRs. Please note – although IRs are typically associated with open access publications, I discuss them here as potential repositories for data. 

Honest criticism of IRs

In my discussions with colleagues at conferences and meetings, I have found that some are skeptical about the role of IRs in data access preservation. I posit that this skepticism has a couple of origins:

  • IRs are often not intended for “self-service”, i.e., a researcher would need to connect with IR support staff (often via a face-to-face meeting), in order to deposit material into the IR.
  • Many IRs…

View original post 896 more words

About debbydix

exploring the things we like in a way that I can understand

Posted on October 25, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

